Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

Slow Thursday Thoughts
25 October 2001
4 15:21

Once again, I'm posting from work in the middle of the afternoon because I haven't a great deal else to do. I'm thankful for the peaceful moments. Though there ARE other things I COULD be doing, I've been feeling really quite stagnant lately. Haven't been going to the gym, haven't been folding/ironing the laundry and putting it away, haven't been cooking anything interesting, haven't been going out to see friends, haven't been studying for the MCSE exams, haven't been super-productive with the computer network or the project (Correctional Center renovations...woo-hoo!) on which I'm now the Architect's lead representative. Hell, I haven't even felt like going to work most days.

I have, however, started keeping this online journal (though I'm annoyed by the improper translation into HTML of spaces after punctuation -- periods and colons get TWO!), and a couple days ago, I wrote lyrics to a new song, which shockingly, I still think is pretty good, called "Love in a Southern Town", so I've not been completely unproductive. It was supposed to be informed by my experience as a groomsman at my best friend (also first boy I loved, though nothing really ever happened) from high school's wedding this past weekend, but instead, it ended up being my thoughts on two entirely different people, a friend who lives in Louisiana and a young man I met in Southwestern Georgia in April of 2000, whose name I can't even remember now. So now, I guess I have to churn out the music to that and a good handful of other songs before deciding to have a little listening party, at which hopefully, some of my closest friends will tell me with brutal honesty what they think of the songs, and after which I'll decide what to do next.

Speaking of music, I have a choir rehearsal tonight. I wonder when our second CD (recorded last spring) will actually be released. (It's nearly the holiday season; someone should check to make sure the first one is in stores around here...) I wish our usual conductor would return from his sabbatical and either whip into shape or fire the singers who are just not carrying their weight. (Hasten the coming of January...) We're a professional, salaried group of 14, and for years, we've been said to be among the best choirs on the east coast, so our recent failure to so much as approach my standards is really vexing. One of the things I used to most enjoy has become one of the things I most dread.

I was hoping to hang out with Matt last night, but he never called me back to confirm, so maybe he was working or something. (He's such a sweet kid, and adorably cute, but a little young for me to consider a serious long-term prospect, I'm afraid. Ah, well, you can never have too many friends.) Additionally, I have to remember to call back the charming Mormon missionary boys who want to discuss their faith with me. They stopped me on the street a couple weeks ago as I was going to see some friends later than expected, and since I couldn't really talk then, I gave them my phone number, and they've been calling to reschedule, but I'd really like to read the Book of Mormon before chatting with them so I'll at least know what I'm talking about and be able to raise valid and coherent/intelligent questions. Comparative religion is sometimes such fun! I'm thinking I might take up Zen Buddhism in addition to attempting to seduce cute Mormon missionaries (as if).

I'm sure I have no less than five party invitations for this weekend, but I've no clue which ones I'll go to (or for that matter, what I'll go AS). I can't believe it's almost Hallowe'en. I remember when I used to throw a party on Hallowe'en night, no matter what day it fell on. Those slowly became more sparsely populated as we all grew up and become more responsible. What a shame.

I can't believe Jane Siberry is coming to the Acoustic Cafe in Bridgeport on the 10th of November. What a lovely belated birthday present for me! Wanna go? Oh, and then there's Suzanne Vega in either New Hampshire, Boston, or New York, also in early November. And sometime soon, all that art I bought (yeah, all two pieces that I had shipped) on the cruise to Alaska last month will be arriving. I should be saving serious money for the framing. And in just a few weeks is my annual college reunion with friends at the Yale-schmarvard Football Game (I wonder if I'll actually make it into the game this year, or just get trashed and hang out at the tailgates...we shall see), and more importantly, the croquet matches the day before. All this fun keeping me busy...I may well lose my mind from the pleasure! (Um, yeah, right...More likely, I'll just end up more tired and broke than I was before.)

Anyway, I've babbled quite enough for now. If anything significant changes, I'll edit this.

'Til next time, take care, be safe, peace...

r

Now Playing: Garbage, BEAUTIFUL GARBAGE

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch