Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

Reawakening... & Love in a Southern Town
15 January 2002
4 11:49

So I'm aware it's been a long time since my last entry, and much interestingness has transpired in the space between. I'll continue my odes to my wonderful friends and my occasionally titillating life later, but for now, here's the song I'm currently working on. Feel free to comment. It was supposed to be about my best friend from high school's wedding, but it apparently decided to go elsewhere (Southwest Georgia and Shreveport, LA). This may actually be the final draft of the lyric. Or maybe not...

Love in a Southern Town

The summer always came too warm,
Suspended stagnant in the humid air.
The whitest flowers' sickly sweetness hangs,
Dripping in the evening's heavy breeze.

Your cool dark glasses glittered in the sun,
Drawling bored behind a cigarette,
Your waistband's taunting curve on smooth tan skin:
I stared while asphalt cracked and lilies bloomed.

And is there a world out there?
Is there love in a Southern town?
How can you kiss without breathing?
And are there backroads you've never been down?

Winter's fruit is never borne;
Even the cold is too thick to breathe,
And dreams of fleeing somewhere north
Would lead you alone with the stony wind.

(Springtime's rains fall comfortless;
Smoky autumn is all I miss.)

And is there a world out there?
Is there love in a Southern town?
How do you kiss without breathing?
And are there backroads you've never been down?

I taste your oceans on my skin,
I smell the salt wind in your hair;
I breathe your dreams of the home I could not bear.

(c) 2001

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch