Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

Drunpacking
07 March 2003
4 14:53

So it's Friday afternoon at 3 o'clock, and I'm drunk. Okay, so I'm not really drunk, but I am decidedly what in college I referred to as "not-sober". Why? Well, there's very little food in my apartment (I had two turkey & cheese sandwiches for lunch, very nutritious, that), and there's nothing to drink 'round here but water and booze. Yes, I need to make a serious trip to the grocery store, but it ain't happenin' today, as I've already had too much of the aforementioned booze. I AM SO BORED!

I took the day off to unpack my life from the sea of boxes in which it currently resides. So far, I've completely scrubbed the kitchen and begun configuring it, talked to Mommy for about an hour on the phone, talked to Christine for about an hour on the phone, checked my office e-mail a couple of times, showered, done about five loads of laundry, smoked two cigarettes (blech, I hate those things), and generally done nothing that impresses me with my progress. The drinking, however, has been interesting: whiskey (Jim) and Southern Comfort (my old favourite). I hate boxes. I hate packing. I hate unpacking. I wish I could just snap my fingers and make everything be magically arranged in a super-clever and chic fashion and put away.

I've also discovered that I'm learning to like the New Haven Coliseum. Yes, it's a behemoth eyesore, but the more I look at it, the more I like its forlorn, abandoned, eerie framework, with all the visible exterior stairways leading on high to...where? It was never really finished to start with; it seems a shame to destroy something like that. Can't we just renovate it, expand it, give it the kind of mod grandeur which Kevin Roche doubtless envisioned for it when he first designed it, and then build other stuff in the area to make this section of town more au courant? I shall have to discuss this with my boss when we're both back in the office. The Coliseum is weird and quirky; I am weird and quirky. We make a good team, I think.

Do you like to unpack after moving into a new apartment? You should come and help me. If you come up with the uber-cool design for my living room and office ('cause I don't think what I've got going on right now is too useful), I might even fuck you. Man, am I crass.

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch