Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

Seventeen Is an Amusing Number
17 June 2003
4 12:47

I am absurd. This is a moment of enormous amusement for me.

Every now and then, I check my stats to see who's been reading, what, when and why. Today, I notice that my diary has been accessed seventeen times from the same host. Yesterday. At a time when I have not updated in roughly a week. (I'm ambivalent about this DiaryLand thing right now. I have a lot going on, and I'm not sure how much of it I'm willing to share. Also, I'm suffering from the usual devastating spring depression, now that spring has decided to kick in since it's mid-June.)

So I'm curious as to how this happened. So I check the "Referrers" page. And I learn...(Y'all ready for this?)

That someone Yahoo-searched (WHO uses Yahoo as his/her search engine?!) the word "soccerboi", and my diary was returned, along with a bunch of other less-clickable-from-the-office matches. So someone ended up visiting my diary. Someone from the Hertz Company, based in Oklahoma. (Yeah, I mean the rental car people, and yes, you bet your sweet ass I traced that IP address. I mean, I was curious! Who, at this point, would visit my diary?!) Seventeen times! In one day. That must've hurt. (Oh, bad DJRainDog. Puns, even vague ones, are not allowed. No doggy-biscuit.)

So dear Mr. or Ms. Hertz Company employee, I thank you for your patronage, and I do hope that you will return, and perhaps join those others who find me, for one reason or another, at least vaguely entertaining. I mean...Seventeen times, yo. Was that seventeen different pages? That would indicate a level of interest to which I don't even think most of my regular readers aspire. (And I hope you're not alarmed that I know, sort-of, where you are. I mean, I have readers at Pfizer and Compaq and all kinds of interesting places, apparently, so you're hardly the only slave of Corporate America that's found him- or herself in my little corner of this dark end of the street...)

Love to you all, whoever and wherever you are...

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch