Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

"Had they but courage equal to desire"
09 September 2003
4 09:37

Initially, I began writing about how I hate America. Then, I realised I do not hate America, for it really is a lovely place, filled with all manner of different climates and landforms and incredible wildlife -- well, assuming we don't manage to destroy all of the good things by paving and building vinyl-sided cracker-box houses over them. It's the people and the way they behave that I don't like so much.

I hate the president, for he is a moron who in his quest for power and world homogeny, like the worst of the ancient Roman emperors, is incapable of seeing the dire needs of his own wretched people.

I hate the vice-president, for while he is an intelligent and capable man, his agenda is one of nearly unmitigated evil.

I hate the Congress, for they answer not to the majority of the populace, but to big businesses and special interest groups, whom they should instead regulate.

I hate most Americans, for they are lazy (too easily contented, too prone to group mentality) and stupid (willfully ill-educated) and fail to ask enough questions loudly and insistently enough (Where has gone the spirit of Revolution which sparked the creation of this nation, which I now regard as merely a failed sociological experiment?).

I suppose I have two options.

1. Leave.

2. Do something to effect a change.

I like option 2 best, because it seems the easier option, really. How, though, does one begin a revolution? How do I make myself a major public nuisance on a national level? How can the world be, once again, turned upside-down? (Yes, I'm referring to the fact that at Cornwallis's surrender to Washington at Yorktown, the British pipers were playing a tune called "The World Turned Upside-Down." Music is everything.)

Do others feel the same, or are Americans with brains really the exception rather than the rule for which Jefferson would have hoped, and in which he clearly believed?

Perhaps I should run for office. If I started now, I might actually be of sufficient political stature to run for President when I'm old enough.

Enough.

When will we rise from our couch-bound network-television-infected stupor and collectively decide we have had enough?

"Rise up in the cafeteria and stab them with your plastic forks!"

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch