Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

Strange Fare-wells
14 October 2003
4 02:43

I can think of nothing to say that would not be imbecilic and unuseful, nothing that has not been said countless times before and infinitely better than I could muster from my feeble brain. I know everything and nothing. We watch the drama of each other's lives over the world-wide web, and we see only a fraction -- only what the writer chooses to show us. This is insufficient, for infinite worlds are borne in our very existences. You can never truly, completely know. But we persist in trying.

I think of Emily Saliers's words:
"So we must love while these moments are still called today,
Take part in the pain of this passion-play,
Stretching our youth as we must,
Until we are ashes to dust,
Until time makes history of us."

And on the subject of parting, I have long found these words devastatingly beautiful and poignant, on-target, cinematically focused. They are printed here in response to someone else's life, with all my best wishes for moving on again...

SHE:
Ah, leave me not to pine
Alone and desolate;
No fate seemed fair as mine,
No happiness so great!
And Nature, day by day,
Has sung in accents clear
This joyous roundelay,
"He loves thee -- he is here.
Fa-la, la-la, Fa-la, la-la.
He loves thee -- he is here.
Fa-la, la-la, Fa-la."

HE:
Ah, must I leave thee here
In endless night to dream,
Where joy is dark and drear,
And sorrow all supreme --
Where nature, day by day,
Will sing, in altered tone,
This weary roundelay,
"He loves thee -- he is gone.
Fa-la, la-la, Fa-la, la-la.
He loves thee -- he is gone.
Fa-la, la-la, Fa-la."

Mabel and Frederic
from Gilbert & Sullivan's The Pirates of Penzance

If there's anything at all that I can do, just let me know.

As ever,
/r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch