Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

Recent Reading
07 January 2004
4 16:30

Okay, so yeah-yeah, it's been way too long. I noticed yesterday that it'd been 69 days since my last update (and even longer since I'd written anything of real interest from my own perspective), and I thought that in response to a number like that, as well as in response to the fact that my next entry (now this one) would be my 100th, I ought to add another entry, which was meant to be "100 Things You Might Not Know about DJRainDog" (an interesting coincidence, since Ms. Shiv posted a comment about her "100 Things" entry yesterday, unbeknownst to me at the time. I started that list, but in the interim, I was sent an interesting link.

Now, I realise that if you read me and you actually find anything I have to say remotely entertaining, you're probably a pretty free-thinking and intelligent individual anyway, but continuing my tradition of preaching to the choir, go read this, as well as all the attendant linked pages of notes and responses which follow it at the bottom. I'm not saying I agree with everything in the essay, but I spent an hour at lunch red-lining and scibbling my own editorial comments on a hard copy of it, and in the end, I think Mr. Graham makes some really excellent points and in some really interesting ways. It's light reading, but it merits some heavy thought.

In other news, and speaking of Ms. ShiveryDelicious, she's got a gig coming up this Friday night at The Orange Bear (47 Murray Street in Manhattan), and I say, in the words of the incomparable Ms. Brenda Russell (popularised by the also incomparable Ms. Oleta Adams), "I don't care how you get here, just get here if you can." I, at the very least, will be there, though I will not wear bells, the holiday season being over and all.

Expect a flurry of updates from me over the next few days. The fact that I've not been posting does not indicate that I've not been writing; I just haven't been sharing my random scribbles from the notebook lately. As we work out some kinks in the way my diary, or perhaps it's actually DiaryLand, is designed, I should be posting a passel of pieces from the papers.

'Til then, I am, as ever,

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch