Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

A Good Start
12 January 2004
4 10:21

I'm late to work again. And now that I'm here, I'm going to sit around writing another diary entry, 'cause that's really the most productive thing that I can think of doing until the parts arrive to repair the computer which ate itself over a week ago. I was assured on Friday that the order would be placed that day and they'd be sent overnight to me, which would hopefully mean they'd arrive this morning. Apparently, though, only the power supply (which actually doesn't need to be replaced -- I just thought it would be good to have a spare, considering how frequently those mothers blow up around here...hmm..."mothers"...I've been reading Eric too much lately) was shipped, not overnight, but ground, and is not scheduled to arrive until Wednesday. The other items are still "pending", according to the website! I'm not even entirely sure what the fuck that means! Back-ordered? We haven't got to those yet? We're searching the warehouse? Packed but not yet shipped? When I get my hands on my vendor...Well, never mind what I'm gonna do. I don't even know where said vendor is actually located. I generally only communicate with him via e-mail, as everyone knows I loathe using the phone, except in cases of emergency.

On a pleasanter note, I was greeted with a lovely surprise when I woke this morning. I was going about the usual business of checking e-mail and such while waking up when I heard what sounded like a truck with a snow-plough on the front of it scraping the pavement below me, so I looked out my window to discover that we have about three inches of snow on the ground! I suppose I shouldn't be surprised, as it's been colder than a well-digger's ass, as my father would say (No offence is intended to any well-diggers, for if your ass is indeed cold, you have my utmost sympathy. I'd say I feel your pain, as my feet are always cold -- I mean, they'd probably remain cold even if we set them afire -- but I can't say my ass has really ever been cold, so I don't really know what it's like.), for the last few days, but I really didn't have a clue that we had this coming. I guess I should watch The Weather Channel or check The National Weather Service website more regularly. Watching the news isn't really an option, as that always only makes me angry when I have to see and hear about all the stupid shit the morons who inhabit this planet are doing. (I'm not doing a superior dance or anything, here; I don't enjoy holding much of the world in utter scorn, but I really do wish people would fucking try just a little bit harder, you know? Go listen to Janis.) In view of this lovely meteorological development, I felt that today would be a good day to try out some of the new clothes I bought over the weekend (described here), so for the cross-town trek of roughly a mile to work, over one of my many blue shirts and grey pairs of trousers and with my nearly 5-year-old shoes which are still rockin' this town, despite the amount of walking I do in them, and despite being on their 4th set of soles (They're English. Say what you want about Italian shoes, but I'll take English ones any day. Maybe they fit my feet better because our genes are similar. I have no clue.), I decided to don my charcoal grey wool overcoat, the new scarf, and the new hat above those nifty 180s, which kept my ears warmer than I really wanted them to be. Apparently, I looked pretty good, as I got a good handful of smiles from other folk who were trudging through the frozen landscape (I do love it when I can make the girlies smile.), and when I walked into the office, both of the receptionists took a moment to recognise me, and then complimented me profusely on how "dashing" I looked. This is a good way to start a Monday, methinks.

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch