Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

NOLA: Brief Summary Intro
02 February 2004
4 19:48

So much to post, so little time in which to post it. I'm currently sitting in an internet cafe deal on Toulouse St. in the French Quarter in New Orleans. I wrote on the train much of the way down here. I've been having some serious experiences worth writing about practically every moment since my arrival. We have a danger here; if I don't find something about this city that I don't like, I may not come back. Or if I do come back, it'll be with a view to moving down here, despite the beastliness of the summer weather.

Quick Rundown: No sleepers on the south-bound train, so I sat in coach all the way down, but I decided I'd rather endure that than miss the beginning of my hotel reservation. Good choice, too.

Friday night: Got here about a half-hour late, checked into the hotel, went out for dinner, had my first raw oysters (slurpy-licious), walked Bourbon St. laughing at all the drunk fools, wandered back to Decatur and hung out at the Whirling Dervish for awhile (I was totally inappropriately dressed; everybody else was wearing black; I was wearing Abercrombie, but I was totally digging the music -- 80s Goth -- and one of the hot local regulars sitting at the bar), got a call from a buddy who now lives down here, and went and downed a few rounds with him before going with him back to this cutie's apartment with yet another cutie (me+buddy+2 other cuties=4)...Funfunfun. PLAY SAFE, KIDS! I always do.

Saturday, napped for part of the day, had an early dinner, went back to the hotel, fell asleep feeling kinda woozy.

Sunday, spent the day with my life suspended between the bed, the bathtub and the toilet with some sort of food poisoning from dinner the night before (I think it was the salad, actually).

Today, back in the game, did some shopping, had an AMAZING lunch at Mr. B's bistro (2 Bloody Marys, bacon-wrapped oysters, barbecued shrimp -- My Mom would say it was "so good it'd make your tongue slap your brains out"), went back to the hotel, napped...Did a little bit of shopping -- I won't be buying art on this trip, as I've bought leather clothing instead. Hmm...DJRainDog in leather.

And now, my time on this machine is running out, so I'm stopping here, but I'll post more later.

All best to all,

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch