Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

On Democracy
11 March 2004
4 23:00

This evening, I was channel-surfing, as I am wont to do in the evenings when I don't feel like doing much else, which is often the case after a long day, and I happened upon an old movie. I'm not sure what it was, when it was made, or who was in it, but in the scene which was in progress, children are lined up in front of a desk, apparently getting ready to be adopted, and one of the young boys steps forward and says something about wanting to have a say in whether and by whom he is adopted. The man behind the desk, presumably a lawyer, replies with something to the effect of, "Do not question the workings of democracy. At least until you're seven."

That comment provoked me to scribble the following:

The very purpose of democracy is that it should be questioned. Not only must it withstand constant scrutiny, but it must be under constant scrutiny by its constituents, in order that it may constantly evolve to best meet the needs and will of same.

At a post-rehearsal dinner & drinking session with some friends one night, one of them stated that he believes that the government is, ultimately, good, and that he trusts that those in office have at heart what they believe to be the best interest of the country. I could not disagree heartily enough. I believe that attitude is the reason why we are all in such a mess right now.

Here I am reminded of a song, with music by Michael Sahl and lyric by Aaron Kramer, called "Prothalamium," a Greek term referring to a song for a marriage. I encourage you to read it here, as I'm sure it's copyrighted, though Mr. Kramer apparently died a few years ago, and I don't want to trample on anyone's toes, but it really is quite beautiful and appropriate, I think. (The song was recorded by Judy Collins on her 1970 album Whales and Nightingales.)

I think that for each of the ninety days leading up to this year's presidential election, I shall try to post an essay on something political. We'll see if I'm actually capable of that sort of discipline and analytical thought at this point. And with that, I bid you go, and Trust No One, and Question Everything.

Pax vobiscum.

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch