Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

A Little Good News?
20 May 2004
4 09:30

So I'm continuing this temporal jumping-all-over-the-place thing today. Much updating will happen as I sit and wait for obsolete machines to install clean copies of Windows 98 on themselves. Thrilling stuff, I tellya.

This morning, the exercise hurt. Yesterday, I was a bad, lazy boy, and I did not go to the gym to do cardio in the morning or in the evening. In the morning, I did the yoga, and then, I did some crunches, and then, I did the sinus wash (which feels weird while I'm doing it, but makes me SUCH a happy boy as I breathe more clearly afterwards than I have likely ever done in my entire life), and I went to work. Oh, yeah, there was a shower in there somewhere, but I digress. Last night, I left the office somewhere around 8 and went to the grocery store. Maybe it was later than that; I don't know. At any rate, when I got home and finished putting the perishables away, it was about 9.30, and I had some protein snacks, watched Law & Order (Lenny Briscoe, we shall miss ye, but what on earth will Jerry Orbach do now?! I can't imagine him as anything other than a wise-cracking aging NYC cop anymore; I mean, come on, it's been twelve years!), and went to bed. I've determined that getting up in the morning when I've been sleeping in my bed is far more difficult than getting up off of the floor or the couch. My bed is uber-comfortable, and nicely-located, facing both windows in my bedroom, which is at the top of the southeast corner of the building. (Admittedly, the view from said windows isn't the most attractive, being partially the behemoth New Haven Coliseum and its underpinnings, which I thought they'd have demolished months ago, and beyond it, the highway (which I actually quite like, because I am possessed of a weird industrialistic aesthetic). And morning is such a pretty thing to experience in a supine position. Anyway, I digress. So I went back to the gym this morning, and I did cardio, and I did upper body, and I was surprised that the cardio was as tiring as it was, and my legs feel funny now, but I guess it's all working. I know I'm certainly working.

When I woke this morning, though, an old country/cross-over hit (charted in the pop top 100 and was #1 on the country charts in 1983, when I was six) for Ann Murray (Mmm...Canadian...Alto...Need I say more?) called "A Little Good News" immediately began echoing through my head. We were in the Reagan years, and mostly, I guess, everyone thought things were going well, at least in Southeastern Virginia, where I lived. If we looked at the world, though, from above, things were probably quite similar to the way they are right now. Government lies, vehement hatred, taxes, economy, terrorism, war, death. And we continue to be obsessed with dwelling on our darkness, perpetuating our decay by advertising it and wallowing in it. I felt a knot grow in my throat and tears well up in my eyes as I sang the following to myself in my gravel-cracked morning voice while sorting laundry:

I rolled out this morning
The kids had the mornin' news show on
Bryant Gumbel was talkin' 'bout the fighting in Lebanon
Some senator was squawkin' 'bout the bad economy
It's gonna get worse you see,
We need a change in policy

There's a local paper rolled up in a rubber band
One more sad story's one more than I can stand
Just once, how I'd like to see the headline say
"Not much to print today; can't find nothin' bad to say", because

Nobody robbed a liquor store on the lower part of town
Nobody O.D.'ed, nobody burned a single buildin' down
Nobody fired a shot in anger, nobody had to die in vain
We sure could use a little good news today

I'll come home this evening
I'll bet that the news will be the same
Somebody takes a hostage; somebody steals a plane
How I wanna hear the anchor man talk about a county fair
And how we cleaned up the air,
How everybody learned to care
Oh, tell me

Nobody was assassinated in the whole Third World today
And in the streets of Ireland, all the children had to do was play
And everybody loves everybody in the good old USA
We sure could use a little good news today

(Written by Charles Black, Rory Bourke, and Thomas Rocco)

It's usually the part about the Irish children that gets me. (Go figure.) This morning, though, it was, "Everybody loves everybody in the good old USA." I had to stop there and go prepare the saline solution for my sinus wash before I really lost it. He said, "Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself." And then, He said that EVERYTHING hung on this. And, of course, they killed Him for it. It seems so simple. Why do we make it so fucking difficult?

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch