Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

What About Me?
9 June 2004
4 19:44

I'm sitting in rehearsal, and we're reviewing choreography, so I'm just kind-of the trained monkey behind the piano, playing along and occasionally pretending to remember something about what the cast is supposed to do when they ask me, since the choreographer is not here at the moment. I hate dance rehearsals for this reason; they're terribly dull and repetetive for me. It's easier for them to work if I'm actually playing than if they have to use a recording, though. To be honest, the accents in the show are driving me a little nuts, too 'cause they're so varied and inconsistent, but nothing's perfect, I guess.

Right now, I'm observing the chorus boys (We have only two.) getting really rather familiar with each other. I shouldn't be too surprised; I mean, they ARE chorus boys and we ARE doing Cabaret, so it only makes sense. I was fairly sure one of them was a 'mo; I mean, he's a dancer, but the other is a soccer player, and I'd have sworn...Well, but there they sit, dancer-boy reclining with his legs resting on soccer-boy's lap. They're both terribly cute, actually, so it's kind-of adorable to see them sitting there like that, looking perfectly comfortable and chatting animatedly. It is NOT a part of the scene.

It's refreshing watching them, but then, the thought occurs to me that I'm surrounded by cute coupledom. (Sally and the MC happen to live together and have been an item for awhile now, though somehow, that dynamic doesn't seem to have affected their performances.) And I think to myself, "What about me? Who is there for me?"

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch