Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

Dark Thursday
01 July 2004
4 17:14

Today is the day on which the most homophobic piece of legislation ever enacted in this nation's history, and the most discriminatory in decades, passes into law.

Further details are available here, in previous impassioned commentary from Yours Truly, and at www.virginiaisforhaters.org.

I had hoped that the wheels of justice would roll quickly and would stay this wrong-headed fear-mongering and hatred, but alas, America disappoints me yet again.

Today is a very sad day indeed.

And so I say, as your native son, be ashamed Virginia. Hide your face and hang your head in disgrace, for you are the courtesan of persecutors and despots, the serving-wench of warmongers and mass-murderers, the plague-ridden drug-addled whore-mother of Ignorance and Want, and were I able to do so without befouling myself with your filth, I would spit in your face.

"Oh, but you who philosophize disgrace
And criticize all fears
Bury the rag deep in your face
For now's the time for your tears."
--Bob Dylan, "The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll"

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch