Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

Psycho Summer Summary
29 July 2004
4 10:49

Before I post all the things I've written in the last month, which is probably going to have to wait 'til next week, here's a quick update/teaser on what's to come in detail.

Saturday 26 June: Final performance of Cabaret. After/instead of strike, Patrick and I cut my shaggy-dyed black hair with his clippers. In so doing, we realise it's two different colours. I instruct him to keep clipping shorter 'til it's all one colour. I get a very even all-over buzz-cut out of this deal with an 1/8" guard, meaning I end up with about 1/8" of hair.

Sunday 27 June: I attend the NY Pride Parade/March, walking with the NYC Gay Hockey Association, as I have some friends who play with them. I made the mistake of getting stoned before the parade, so what would doubtless have been an overwhelming experience to begin with (I'd never been to Pride before, much less marched) became a bit surreal and disturbing. By the end of the parade, I was almost myself. Friends and I had dinner, went to a very swank party where we knew no-one. Friends became tired and headed home; I went back to the party, made friendly with the DJ, watched the fireworks from the Pier Dance in reflections of reflections on windows, left the party and wandered around town for an hour or so before meeting a doctor, hooking up with him on the floor of his office waiting room, crashing at his apartment at the foot of the Empire State Building, and catching the first train back to Connecticunt in the morning. Surreal, surreal, surreal. I'm not sure I feel the need to participate in Pride again; I don't exactly understand it, and I think it's not my thing.

Tuesday 29 June (I think?): I accept an offer to be accompanist/arranger for a guest artist performing at The Cabaret Conference at Yale. I later discover, perusing the event's website, that this is rather a bigger deal than I had thought.

Thursday 1 July: I submit a letter to my leasing company informing them that I will vacate my apartment at the end of the month. I also agree to go to Maine to subsitute for the musical director at the theatre where I used to work for four days the following week.

Saturday 3 July - Tuesday 6 July: Vacation with friends in Provincetown, including my first "Circuit Party"-type experience, which I am horrified to admit I enjoyed.

Wednesday 7 July: I return to work for a day, make sure that things are running smoothly, pick up the scores to Oliver! and A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum, play through the Forum score once, and quickly pack bags to depart yet again.

Thursday 8 July - Sunday 11 July: I rehearse Forum in Maine and make nice with the cast and crew. Why does everybody seem to love me? I am most thankful and hope that this condition holds for a long time to come.

Monday 12 July - Present: Whirlwind/Blur of work, rehearsals, dental appointments, giving notice of my intention to vacate my current job as IT manager of an architecture firm, drinking, smoking, sex and general panic.

Saturday 31 July: I will disabuse myself of about half my worldly possessions and move the remainder into a 5' x 10' storage locker. After the moving and the lunch & boozing I've promised anyone who shows up to help, I'll hopefully go back to Maine to see the last performance of Forum and assist in the change-over to the next show, Tick, Tick...BOOM! in whatever capacity I'm able, see its opening, and return here to continue work for as long as they'll have me, but not past the end of August.

The Immediately Foreseeable Future: I continue working on the upcoming concert and my day job whilst sleeping on friends' couches here in New Haven. After the concert, I will commence searching in earnest for a domicile and employment in New York City whilst sleeping on friends' couches there. (If you have couch-space available and would like to offer, I would be most appreciative, and I'm sure we could work out some sort of deal whereby I do your laundry or dishes or cooking or cleaning or something to repay your kindness. I'm a very tidy, self-contained, quiet, and mostly nearly absent houseguest.) I hope to be a fully-established resident of New York, NY by 1 September 2004.

Any words of encouragement; advice; offers of connections, couch-space, or employment; well-wishes; or prayers will be gratefully accepted and inexpressibly appreciated.

*Deep Breath*

Please let this be The Right Thing...

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch