Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

The Piano-Bitch Is Back
27 October 2004
4 15:02

For those who are wondering, since ostensibly, no-one from 'blogWorld (TM) showed up, last night went quite well. It began rather excitingly, as I was almost late as a result of being continually ass-fucked bareback and unlubed by the MTA and was nearly late (the trains are never there when I need them, and as a result of construction on Madison, the cross-town bus crossed Central Park at 96th, rather than 86th Street, which cost me probably a good five minutes), which would not have been good for a first appearance, but I managed to arrive just on time. The lovely and charming bartender made me a Southern Comfort Manhattan and poured me a glass of water, and after saying a quick hello to an old friend from college, whom I'd not seen in literally years, who'd seen the note about my appearance on Friendster and decided to come up from Jersey City, I climbed behind the piano and slid into "Sympathy for the Devil". I'm betting that's not one you get a lot in piano bars.
And if you wanna know more, well, maybe you should show up the next time I'm playing. Staying for the entire thing is not necessary, as it's roughly the equivalent of a six-hour-long concert, and the best bits are probably between 10 p.m. and 1 a.m., anyway.
(No apologies necessary, as there were plenty of people there, and they seemed to enjoy themselves as much as I did. I do allow for the fact that not everyone is as hardcore as I am and able to stay out 'til 4 a.m. and still get in to work the following morning. Only a lucky few, though, will be able to say they were there the first time I played in New York. It won't be the last.)
r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch