Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

Clinical Messiah
10 December 2004
4 16:14

This has to be quick, as I'm at work and have only been here for about an hour today.

Today, I spent 6 hours at a free health clinic (I have no medical insurance and no primary care physician in New York) to find out that I'm still HIV-negative (thankfully), I probably have chlamydia (no sex for another week (it's been 3 since the last time), two capsules of doxycycline per day), and I've been tested for gonorrhea, chlamydia, and syphilis and begun the process of being vaccinated against both hepatitis A and B. I got a good long schpiel from the doctor about all my naughty habits (which are really not that naughty) and a sound shushing from him anytime I interrupted to ask a question or tell him something. I do not like this doctor. I must find one of my own, even if it means I have to pay full price for office visits or find some way of getting insurance coverage. (Any and all suggestions are welcomed.)

Sunday, at 3 p.m., at Trinity Church, Wall Street, the Trinity Choir and REBEL Baroque Ensemble, with soloists from the choir (I'm not one of the soloists this time around), will perform G. F. Handel's Messiah. If ticket prices ($25-$45) seem excessive, the concert will be webcast on http://www.trinitywallstreet.org and probably simulcast on WQXR (96.3 FM) if you're in the NYC area. The performance has been referred to in the past as one of the best performances of the work in the City, and WQXR's website says the following:

Sun., Dec. 12 � 3:00 � 5:00 PM: Live from Trinity Church: Handel�s Messiah
Three years after its underwriting and broadcast of the performance of Handel�s Messiah at Trinity Church Wall Street, which enabled the Church to continue an annual holiday tradition only weeks after the collapse of the World Trade Center buildings a few blocks away, WQXR continues its support of the Church and its music programs with this live broadcast of Handel�s holiday masterpiece, performed in its entirety by The Choir of Trinity Church (an ensemble of 21 of New York�s finest professional singers), the REBEL Baroque Orchestra, and soloists from the Choir, all led by Trinity�s music director, Dr. Owen Burdick. This annual performance of the oratorio is a Trinity Church tradition that dates back to 1770, 29 years after the work�s premiere.

That's all for now.

Happy Advent III to you all, and always practice safe(r) sex!

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch