Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

Snow & Booze
24 January 2005
4 10:47

Yes, there is snow. Yes, there is a lot of it. No, there is not as much of it as they said they would be. This is the northeast. How is snow "news"? Dear News Media: Please go die. All of you. Now. Or else get a life. Except John Muller, 'cause I think you're dreamy. You know, in a sort-of Ryan Seacrest-y kind of way. Shut up. I wonder if the coffee cart has already come and gone. I want coffee.

In other news, since I declined the invitation to go get snowed in with a few bottles of brandy in Connecticut on Saturday, yesterday was a big fat alcohol-fest. Communion wine in church was followed by all-you-can-drink mimosas at brunch at Artepasta in the edge of the West Village, which was quite yummy (Have I mentioned how much I want to live down there?), and then, after scrubbing the hell out of the bathtub, I lay in a hot bubble bath, dozing off repeatedly and drinking a mixture of orange juice and whiskey ('cause it's important in this weather that I make an effort to stay well, and orange juice is filled with vitamin-y goodness, and whiskey is...well...101 proof alcohol, which should kill bad things, right? no, they do not taste particularly good when mixed, but the bubble-bath was divine), after which I went out to dinner (beware: subway story coming later) with a cute boy (rather expensive dinner, but the Tanqueray martini was fab, and the waiter was totally fuckable), with whom I then went and had a beer but did NOT go home with and fuck 'cause I've already done that, and I sort-of felt bad about it and want him to know I'm not just using him for sex, though we totally made a scene in the bar making out 'cause he's a really wonderful kisser. Oh, yeah, and then, when I finally got home, I poured myself some whiskey, which I desperately needed, and which I passed out before I could finish. The funny thing? At no point would I say I was actually drunk. Hmm...

I'm gonna go do some work, now, and when I come back, I'm going to outline a plan for overthrowing/upgrading/destroying/all-of-the-above the MTA.

Exciting.

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch