Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

Death to All the MTA!
20 December 2005
4 06:40

It is not secret that I hold the MTA, the Metropolitan Transit Authority, in the utmost scorn. Since moving to New York, I have believed that their management figures are incompetent and isolated from the real transportation needs of the citizens of this city. Up to this point, however, my loathing had been reserved for the management of the organisation. Today, my ire refocuses itself upon the rank-and-file workers, members of the transit workers' union.

This morning, as many know, said union decided to strike, stranding millions of commuters within the five boroughs of New York City. Their decision to do this was predicated upon the spurious idea that they are ill-treated and deserve more salary and benefits than they receive under their current contracts. I do not dispute that they doubtless deserve a yearly increase in pay. That they can fail to realise that their plight as workers is significantly better than that of most people living and working in New York City, however, is criminal. The average salary of a TWU employee is more than I make in a year. They receive paid vacations and holidays. They have a pension plan, to which they contribute nothing, and they have medical benefits for which they pay, once again, nothing. I, and millions like me in this nation, have NONE of these things.

That the transit workers would deprive me and countless others of what little income we do earn by making it incredibly difficult for us to actually get to work is an undeserved slap in the face. Henceforth, my hatred is for ALL employees of the MTA, from the highest executive to the lowest sweeper, and they shall know my fury, and I shall do everything in my power, little though it be, to see them broken, smashed into pieces, and utterly destroyed.

May they all rot in Hell.

Roger Toussaint, the head union negotiator, should die for his reprehensible, immoral and irresponsible actions! And while we're at it, let's call a strike that shuts down the largest mass-transit system in the world what it is: AN ACT OF TERRORISM! This means that the TWU should be treated as a terrorist cell. Hey, Bushy, where are you and your Patriot-Act-thumping cronies when you could actually do something useful?!

(Now, I'm off to figure out how I'm going to get to work this morning and a gig this evening.)

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch