Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

absence of discipline
13 November 2001
4 15:00

Oh, yes, this writing an entry every day thing is working out SO well!

Apparently.

Work, today, is blissfully slow, so I shall consider the events of the last few days. There haven't been many worthy of note.

Friday: Had lunch with Susan at Royal India, which is always a pleasure (both her company and the food). Watched THE HOUSE OF YES, which I found more disturbing than funny. Thought I was going to go out, but fell asleep and was awakened by Matt and his friend who'd dropped by for a visit. The concierge was calling to see if he could let them come up. Once I was coherent enough to understand what was going on, I said yes, then proceeded to chat with them in my doorway, because I really didn't feel too social, but then, after they left, I got dressed and went to the bar where they were supposed to be, where I hadn't been in over a year. I quickly remembered why I hadn't been there in more than a year, and rediscovered (sadly after paying the cover charge) that I was in no mood to be out. Walked home, went to bed.

Saturday: Unproductive day. Went to see Jane Siberry in the evening. Was seated so close to the stage that I think it made us both uncomfortable (We made eye contact several times, and she once warned me not to choke on my tea, as I laughed into the VERY large mug at one of her amusing comments), but it was a very uplifting show. Jane is a very talented and funny woman, and she brings light wherever she travels. Watched THE WAY OF THE GUN, in which despite the facial hair, Ryan Phillippe, by virtue of his arms, looks quite fine. Unfortunately, this movie was also not as funny as I'd hoped for it to be, but rather more violent. Slept.

Sunday: Woke in a bad mood, warmed up the voice, drank tea on an empty stomach (forgetting that doing so causes nausea), and went to sing mass. It went not as well as it should have, and the choir consistently pisses me off. Went home, watched part of A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM, took a nap, went back to sing Evensong, which went much better, with a lovely sermon from Susan McCone (though admittedly, the best points in it were lifted from Augustine), went to the office & worked for 4 hours, went to listen to Compline (It doesn't matter how many times I sing or hear that service; it ALWAYS transports me, somehow...And certainly, it draws a crowd), then went for a beer with Martin, Andrew, and Michael. Then, home and sleep after the rest of AMND (By the way, THAT was the best movie I rented this weekend, I thought, despite all the cutting up of the text they did...Some very fine performances from the actors involved).

Yesterday: Work, laundry (more of that to do tonight), Ally McBeal (HOW can she NOT date Griffin?! James Marsden is so adorable it's almost physically painful for me to look at him!), then sleep.

Today: Work and trying to prepare for this weekend. Blissfully, I get paid on Friday. I've stupidly decided to throw a party Friday night. I need to buy more booze, mixers and munchies, as well as a new receiver for my stereo system, since the fucks in the repair shop didn't even get to it to give me an estimate today. I guess I'll just give Mom the old one, since Jim's doesn't work, and they keep having to listen to my old boom box from college, which really isn't fitting for their elegant living room. Or maybe I'll give Mom the new one and keep the old one for myself, as I've grown rather fond of it over the last nine years. Right, so it's Yale-schmarvard Weekend, and that means WAY too much partying for my own good, as well as houseguests, which means LOTS of cleaning up. Sadly, the art I bought on the cruise won't be framed in time. Oh, well, people can "ooh" and "aah" over that when I throw my little listening party, which now looks like it'll be January, or maybe the Christmas tree decorating party next month. I think I might spend too much money on throwing parties, but I'm not sure.

And speaking of that listening party, I want a real gig. Several of them, actually. But before I can have gigs, I have to get my shit together and write songs. I'm so unmotivated, undisciplined, undomesticated...

In other news, Lars has issues with not being with me, and I have to admit, despite our violently obvious incompatibility issues, I miss him, too. Maybe we can get together the weekend after Thanksgiving weekend and hang out and play chess. I'd like that. Anyway, another hour or so, and I'm outta here. More news later.

r

Now Playing: Texas, MOTHERS HEAVEN

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch