Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

Financial Compliance
20 October 2004
4 15:53

Somebody!
Please!
Say!
Something!
The silence in here is DEAFENING, and as is usual at this hour of the afternoon at work, I'm falling asleep at my desk.

Okay, I'll start. Here's why I'm angry today (or at least part of it):
Money. I don't have much of it, and everybody wants more than I've got.

Here's the run-down: At the end of this month, I must face $850 rent due and probably around $3,500 expenses to have my car repaired before I turn it in on the end of the lease. I also owe $230 in past-due New York City parking tickets (half of which I wanted to contest, as I was definitely NOT blocking that fire hydrant), because the car leasing company told me they'd paid them, but hadn't. They also told me they'd resolved the $160 charge hanging around my account that I refuse to pay because I paid it already, in form of property taxes to the state of virginia (lack of capitalisation is intentional) which I DID NOT OWE, as I am not and was not at the time a resident of said location. They apparently HAVE, however, paid some $400 of property taxes to the State of Connecticut, for which I AM liable and must pay them. Unfortunately, it's highly unlikely that I'll have enough money in my bank account to cover these expenses, as the balance is currently just around $3,000, and that's all I've got. End of story. I'm back in "twenty-five bucks and a cracker" land again.

I've just spent $140 on an Airport Express base station so the roommate and I can use our internet connection wirelessly in the apartment and $700 on movers removing my life from storage, bringing it to New York and unloading it into the aforementioned apartment. I also just bought my monthly $70 MetroCard. I know that I owe Verizon Wireless something around $50 for last month's phone service (or is it this coming month's? I can never remember). I don't yet know what the monthly cost of internet & cable telly are going to be, as the roommate's been handling all that, and I also don't know what the monthly electric or gas bill will be, as he's SUPPOSEDLY been handling that, too, but he mentioned the other day that we just coincidentally happened to have electricity, as he'd never called Con-Ed to have it turned on. I have no clue what that's going to mean in the next few hours...days...months. I think he's just sitting at home all day (or occasionally going and hanging out with his friends) smoking the ganj and watching TV or playing video games.

Oh, yes, and I still owe around $1,000 on my beloved keyboard, which I used to inflict all manner of strain on my back, shoulders and arms last night in the process of bringing it uptown, through the subway, from 22nd St. at 7th Ave. over to 8th Ave. and up to 181st St. on an empty stomach.

All these things play in my mind this morning as I stand for my 40-minute commute at the front of the front car of the A train (What the Hell is a D train doing on the A line? Never mind; I know.), an hour later than I mean to be because my alarm clock decided to lie and tell me it was 6.30 when it was really 7.30, and I realise that I do not, in fact want to be in this place. My continued presence in New York no longer has anything to do with a desire to be here, but is now solely about proving something and sending a big "FUCK YOU" to the entire world. Yeah. So take that, bitchcuntwhore. You'll fucking get paid when you fucking get paid. Eat my ass.

NotLove,
r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch