Current
Filed
Dossier
Scribbles
Telegrams
Briefing
Patron

I Want It Back, and I Want It Better
26 September 2005
4 15:35

In a little more than a month, I'm going to reach a certain milestone age. (Yes, there will be massive partying, and yes, if you're lucky, you might be invited, but that's not the point.) This is the perfect time to make some changes in my life, and they're already under way, as I've started going on an almost daily basis to the gym, and I'm trying to clean up some of my eating habits, as well as reduce my alcohol consumption, and I've stopped smoking cigarettes altogether.

There's one major area of my life that's not yet started falling into place, though, and I think it's time it started. I mean work, of course. Living in Connecticut, I held a position of some power, some stature, decent benefits and a fair paycheck. I was bored, so a little over a year ago, I took the box that was my life, turned it upside-down, and shook it vigorously. Anything that wasn't anchored properly and fell out was abandoned, quite literally, left in my old apartment, at the Salvation Army (Don't start with me; I didn't have enough time to give Goodwill enough notice to come and take things away.), or trashed. Anything that stayed went into storage, most of it eventually making its way with me down to New York.

Here, at least by day (by night, things are different, but that's another topic), I am basically a secretary. Administrative assistant. Whatever you want to call it. And not even a real one, a TEMPORARY one. I earn, according to the hourly figures, a little less than I did in Connecticut for working a hell of a lot harder, and with no benefits whatsoever, and I am taking this job far too seriously. I am inexplicably and unjustifiably interested in doing a good job here and making everyone happy for work which goes largely unappreciated in a position which will never offer anything resembling advancement.

I live in an apartment I don't like in a neighbourhood which I loathe, and I commute to and from my job every day in a dirty, ugly train, often standing packed against dirty, ugly people.

None of this is appropriate. I am entirely too fucking smart and well-educated (i.e., I think too well and could be much more successful, productive and useful elsewhere) for this.

It's time for a change.

r

Last Dispatch - Next Dispatch